Join the investment community and start your week with market insights seen through the lens of alternative web data.

Match.com users don't look for love at 4:00 a.m. EST

5 months ago by Thinknum Media in Facts, Trends

After looking at the personalities and the companies that run the dating world, we turn our attention back to the most important part of the industry: the single ladies, gentlemen, and all other people who want to look for love in all the wrong (or right) places.

At Thinknum, we've been able to track nearly two years of traction data from OKCupid.com, one of the many dating services offered by the giant conglomerate of Match Group ($NASDAQ:MTCH). What we found is a distinct pattern of when people are online and looking for the next hookup or something more serious.

As shown above, the hottest times to log into Match.com is from 10:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. GMT. This makes sense, as that's a window of 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. in the Eastern United States or 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in the West Coast. That five hour window is consistently a busy time to be online and looking for love Monday through Sunday, as singles are coming home from work during the week or looking for a lover at that time of day over the weekend.

Conversely, singles are not mingling at 9:00 a.m. GMT, which is 4:00 a.m. EST or 1:00 a.m. PST. That is basically "last call" time at the bars, and at that rate, it's high time to log out and look forward to the next night.

Join the businesses who have begun to edge out competitors by scouring the web for “alternative” data.

Request demo
Ready for a personalized tour?

Thinknum Media

The general account for Thinknum Media used for multi-authored pieces and official announcements.

Request a demo

We would love to show you how Thinknum will benefit your investment process. To get started, fill out the form and we'll contact you shortly to schedule your demo.

Get Thinknum Media in your inbox

Start the day off with our Weekly Digest.